Discussion Forum

Artifact summmoning sickness?

Do artifacts like chimeric mass when summoned, cant use their ability to become a creature during that turn and attack the player? Or those creatures cant attack at all due to summoning sickness?
Posted 02 November 2010 at 02:18

Permalink

[QUOTE=olataro]Do artifacts like chimeric mass when summoned, cant use their ability to become a creature during that turn and attack the player? Or those creatures cant attack at all due to summoning sickness?[/QUOTE]

302.6. A creature’s activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can’t be activated unless the creature has been under its controller’s control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature can’t attack unless it has been under its controller’s control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the “summoning sickness” rule.

This applies even if the creature wasn't always a creature. It doesn't matter how long it's been a creature, it only matters how long it's been on the battlefield under its current controller's control.

For example, I cast Chimeric Mass. The same turn it comes into play, I turn it into a creature. It can't attack that turn because it has "summoning sickness." Next turn, though, I can turn it into a creature and attack with it.

A deeper example: say I cast Chimeric Mass and later in the same turn Flame Fusillade. This gives the Mass an activated ability with :symtap: in its cost. So long as the Mass isn't a creature, I can activate that ability, but if I make it a creature, it can't use that ability due to "summoning sickness."
0
Posted 02 November 2010 at 03:01

Permalink

How about koth's ability to turn lands into creatures?
0
Posted 02 November 2010 at 04:16

Permalink

[QUOTE=olataro]How about koth's ability to turn lands into creatures?[/QUOTE]

Same thing. If you just got the land, and it becomes a creature, then it cannot attack or tap for mana. If you had the land since the beginning of your turn and it becomes a creature, it can attack and tap for mana no problem.

The same is also true for enchantments (like Still Life).

"Summoning sickness" only cares about two things:

(1) Is the permanent a creature right now?

(2) Has the permanent been on the battlefield under its current controller's continuous control since the beginning of that player's most recent turn?

If it IS a creature and has NOT been around long enough, it is "sick," which means you can't declare it as an attacker and can't activate any of its activated abilities with :symtap: in their costs.

It doesn't matter whether the permanent is or is not also an artifact, enchantment, or land. It doesn't matter whether or not the permanent has been a creature the whole time. All that matters are those two things enumerated above.

Also, the effect of this sickness is very specific. It does not, for example, interfere with the ability of Master Apothecary - you can tap the Apothecary himself the turn he comes into play if you want - because the Apothecary's ability does not have :symtap: in its cost.
0
Posted 02 November 2010 at 05:41

Permalink

i see, thnx again, i hope i didnt bother you too much with my frequent questions.
0
Posted 02 November 2010 at 08:24

Permalink

[QUOTE=olataro]i see, thnx again, i hope i didnt bother you too much with my frequent questions.[/QUOTE]

Not at all :) It's what I'm here for.
0
Posted 02 November 2010 at 12:36

Permalink

Thnx! You are the best! Can i add you in Facebook?
0
Posted 02 November 2010 at 14:57

Permalink

No. I really am just here for the rules questions.
0
Posted 02 November 2010 at 20:10

Permalink