Discussion Forum

Tainted strike

My friend casted tainted strike on Vulshok replica, and then he sacrificed it, and then revived it with nim death,mantle, and then revived it again and sacrificed it, dealing me 6 poison counters.

My question is , does the creature have the tainted strike after it entered the graveyard? and revived again?
Posted 06 November 2010 at 07:03

Permalink

[QUOTE=olataro]My question is , does the creature have the tainted strike after it entered the graveyard? and revived again?[/QUOTE]

No. When an permanent leaves and then returns to the battlefield, it is considered a new object. Effects that were active on its previous incarnation will not follow it.

There are a few exceptions; some effects/abilities have to be able to track the moving object in order to function (like Rancor's self-recursion ability). But things like Giant Growth and Tainted Strike lose track of the object as soon as it leaves the battlefield.

400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. There are six exceptions to this rule:

400.7a Effects from spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities that change the characteristics of a permanent spell on the stack continue to apply to the permanent that spell becomes.

400.7b Prevention effects that apply to damage from a permanent spell on the stack continue to apply to damage from the permanent that spell becomes.

400.7c If an ability of a permanent requires information about choices made as that permanent was cast as a spell, including what mana was spent to cast that spell, it uses information about the spell that became that permanent as it resolved.

400.7d Abilities that trigger when an object moves from one zone to another (for example, “When Rancor is put into a graveyard from the battlefield”) can find the new object that it became in the zone it moved to when the ability triggered, if that zone is a public zone.

400.7e Abilities of Auras that trigger when the enchanted permanent leaves the battlefield can find the new object that Aura became in its owner’s graveyard if it was put into that graveyard at the same time the enchanted permanent left the battlefield. It can also find the new object that Aura became in its owner’s graveyard as a result of being put there as a state-based action for not being attached to a permanent. (See rule 704.5n.)

400.7f If an effect grants a nonland card an ability that allows it to be cast, that ability will continue to apply to the new object that card became after it moved to the stack as a result of being cast this way.
0
Posted 06 November 2010 at 20:00

Permalink