Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Golem Artisan
The situation: I attack with a creature, my opponent assigns a blocker. Before damage resolves I tap 2 for golem artisan's ability to give my creature flying. The blocking creature does not have flying. What happens?
groundandpound420
0 posts
Posted 06 November 2010 at 12:16
Permalink
8 replies
Login to post a comment
olataro
21 posts
It cant block. Yup, you can even use it the turn your artisan was summoned. IT IS THAT POWERFUL
0
Posted 06 November 2010 at 12:46
Permalink
seras
59 posts
that's incorrect.
once the blocker is declared then the attacking creature is blocked, giving it abilities that would've made him unblockable doesn't change that.
you would have to activate the ability as a response to declaring the attacker, not the blocker.
0
Posted 06 November 2010 at 12:53
Permalink
olataro
21 posts
>_< oh man, how bout the trample ability?
0
Posted 06 November 2010 at 13:21
Permalink
olataro
21 posts
How bout if my opponens declare to block and i use a spell to kill off the creature, does it means i can dmg the opponent directly?
0
Posted 06 November 2010 at 13:22
Permalink
seras
59 posts
no, killing the creature in response to it being declared a blocker does not un-block the attacking creature.
once the block is declared, the attacker is blocked regardless of anything that happens to the blocker afterward.
0
Posted 06 November 2010 at 18:58
Permalink
olataro
21 posts
got it. thnx
0
Posted 06 November 2010 at 19:18
Permalink
groundandpound420
0 posts
what about the trample? is it legit to do that after a blocker has been declared or is that null also?
0
Posted 07 November 2010 at 00:20
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
[QUOTE=groundandpound420]what about the trample? is it legit to do that after a blocker has been declared or is that null also?[/QUOTE]
Adding trample is productive right up until combat damage is actually dealt. So it's fine to give the Golem trample after it's been blocked, so long as you do it during the declare blockers step, before the combat damage step.
0
Posted 07 November 2010 at 07:24
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!