Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Plague Strike Targeting
Ok, potential rookie question on targeting.
Plauge Strike: Attach to target hero. Ongoing: At the start of your turn, your hero deals 1 shadow damage to attached hero. When damage is dealt this way, target ally in attached hero's party has -1 health this turn.
Target Rule Definition: If a card or effect tells you to target something, you must choose the target as you play the card or effect. If there is no legal target, you can’t play that card or effect. Once you choose a target, you can’t change your mind, even if something happens to the target you picked. If a card or effect resolves and none of its targets is legal, it is interrupted. If at least one target is legal, it is not interrupted.
I'm trying to interpret the Plauge Strike effect(s) correctly. That is, there's a target hero, and there's an additional secondary target ally. Does this second targeted ally have to be decalred at the time the ability is cast, or "when damage is dealt"?
In the first case, based on the rules for targeting, would that then mean that no existing allies would mean that the card didn't have a valid target and would not be succesfully cast? The last sentance of the targeting rules are ambigious to me in this regard. It's clear that if the ability has multiple targets (ie, deal 1 damage to 3 targets) and less than 3 targets exist, then the card still resolves against however many valid targets DO exist. But what if the ability has TWO effects that target one target each as is the case with this card. If the SECOND effect (target ally in attached hero's party has -1 health) doesn't exist, does THAT mean the card can't be cast, or ceases to be a valid ongoing ability if the second target ceases to exist?
I tend to lean toward the latter in that case because a scenario like "Target Ally A gets +1 health and Target Ally B gets -1 health" would certianly not be valid if only 1 target existed. So that would seem to imply that multi-effect cards need at least one valid target for EACH effect.
So, thoughts? Offical rulings I didn't see in my searches? Am I being over pedantic about interpretation? Thanks in advance for any responses!
Contagion
0 posts
Posted 06 November 2010 at 21:54
Permalink
3 replies
Login to post a comment
seras
59 posts
hum..what game are you talking about?
0
Posted 06 November 2010 at 22:07
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
Structurally, that looks very much like Magic the Gathering. If it were, then the answer to this question would be,
[QUOTE=Contagion] Does this second targeted ally have to be decalred at the time the ability is cast, or "when damage is dealt"?[/quote]
The target would be declared each time when the damage is dealt. You would not declare the secondary target when you play Plague Strike.
This answer hinges on how "triggered abilities" work in MtG, but I think it makes sense here. The way that effect is worded makes me think that you could give -1 health to different allies in different turns, declaring which one each time the damage is dealt.
0
Posted 06 November 2010 at 23:52
Permalink
Contagion
0 posts
Hmm.. url aliasing threw me off! http://forums.wowtcgvault.com/ (WoW TCG) is the same as forums.mtgvault.com.
I didn't even realize I was askign for a rules clarifiaction in the MTG forum group instead of the WoW TCG forum group. Call me a huge jackass!
I'll see if there's a more appropriate forum to post to in the other forum group.
0
Posted 07 November 2010 at 02:01
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!