Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
does double strike stack?
Like what it says, does it stack? Does it becomes quadra strike?
olataro
21 posts
Posted 09 November 2010 at 13:48
Permalink
10 replies
Login to post a comment
Setherial
349 posts
A creature can only benefit from double strike once, so if it gets it from multiple sources it still counts as 1 double strike. Also if the creature gets both double strike and first strike you just ignore the first strike as it is part of double strike.
0
Posted 09 November 2010 at 14:15
Permalink
olataro
21 posts
but when engaging a first strike monster, both of em deals the dmg at the same time, if it has first strike and double strike. Yea, thnx.
Another question, if i taget arc tail on lodestone golem, can i arc tailx3 on my opponents?
0
Posted 09 November 2010 at 14:23
Permalink
olataro
21 posts
but when engaging a first strike monster, both of em deals the dmg at the same time, if it has first strike and double strike. Yea, thnx.
Another question, if i taget arc tail on lodestone golem, can i arc tailx3 on my opponents?
0
Posted 09 November 2010 at 14:24
Permalink
olataro
21 posts
internet prob, sry.
0
Posted 09 November 2010 at 14:25
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
[QUOTE=olataro]Another question, if i taget arc tail on lodestone golem, can i arc tailx3 on my opponents?[/QUOTE]
Please be careful to spell card names correctly. Also, there are these lovely tags on this forum; wrap them around a card name and you create a nice little link.
For example, typing Rancor results in Rancor. Try it in your next question.
Now, I'm assuming you're talking about Arc Trail and Precursor Golem.
edit: my original answer was wrong; see below.
If your opponent has one Precursor Golem in play, along with two other Golems, and you cast Arc Trail on one of them, you will copy it twice, each copy targeting one of the other two Golems. Each Arc Trail, when it resolves, will deal 1 damage to your opponent, for a grand total of 3 damage.
0
Posted 09 November 2010 at 21:24
Permalink
olataro
21 posts
what if he target his on precursor golem? What happens"?
0
Posted 10 November 2010 at 01:30
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
[QUOTE=olataro]what if he target his on precursor golem? What happens"?[/QUOTE]
Oops, I didn't read Arc Trail carefully enough.
Arc Trail does not interact with Precursor Golem. For the Precursor's ability to copy a spell, that spell has to have only one target (and that target has to be a Golem). Arc Trail, on the other hand, requires two targets.
So there is no situation in which Arc Trail could trigger the Precursor's ability.
0
Posted 10 November 2010 at 03:45
Permalink
Jiggs
4 posts
i think that you can target the precursor golem then target the token golem making it a total of 2 targets for the arc tail. thus making the damage to the golems a total of 3 damage for each golems for 1 arc tail. sigh... im running a U/G precursor golem deck right now and i solved this problem by having vines of vastwood or turn aside (or any other counter spell)
0
Posted 10 November 2010 at 05:45
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
[QUOTE=jiggs]i think that you can target the precursor golem then target the token golem making it a total of 2 targets for the arc tail. thus making the damage to the golems a total of 3 damage for each golems for 1 arc tail. [/quote]
Precursor Golem only copies spells that have a single target. It will never copy Arc Trail.
[quote]sigh... im running a U/G precursor golem deck right now and i solved this problem by having vines of vastwood or turn aside (or any other counter spell)[/QUOTE]
That won't stop the copies from being made.
Precursor Golem's ability triggers when the spell is cast; that is, when it's announced, put on the stack, and paid for. Countering a spell doesn't make it retroactively not-cast.
In fact, the copies will resolve before the original spell.
Here's a breakdown of how it works:
A player plays an instant or sorcery that targets a Golem and nothing else; say Irresistible Prey. This triggers Precursor Golem's ability.
TOP OF STACK
Irresistible Prey
BOTTOM OF STACK
Once the spell is finished being cast, just before players get a chance to respond, Precursor Golem's ability goes on the stack.
TOP OF STACK
Precursor's copy ability
Irresistible Prey
BOTTOM OF STACK
Then players get a chance to play instants and activate abilities. Note that since at this point the copy ability is already on the stack, it can't be removed except directly, like with Voidslime, Trickbind, Time Stop, etc.
If no one responds, the top thing on the stack, the copy ability, resolves. Let's say there are two other Golems in play. The stack now looks like this:
TOP OF STACK
Irresistible Prey copy
Irresistible Prey copy
Irresistible Prey
BOTTOM OF STACK
Now there are three separate spells on the stack waiting to resolve. To stop them they must each be countered individually (well, or with something like Swift Silence).
0
Posted 10 November 2010 at 06:16
Permalink
pastahunter
0 posts
However if you cast first volley it doesn't say "target player" but "that creature's controller". So if you play that card on a golem your opponent controls, (assuming he has precursor golem) he'll get 1 damage for each golem he controls.
0
Posted 10 November 2010 at 15:41
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!