Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Golem Foundry/Golems Heart and some other questions
Golem foundry says you get a charge counter on it "Whenever you cast an artifact spell", and Golem's Heart says "Whenever a player casts an artifact spell, you may gain 1 life."So which, if any of the following count as an artifact spell:
Tapping certain Myr to use them as Mana (for example Palladium Myr)
Playing the "four 1/1 colorless Myr artifact creature tokens" you get for playing Myr Battleshere
Adding a Golem from golem foundry.
Tapping an artifact card for any reason whatsoever.
Or is it as I suspect, just when you initially play an artifact from your hand.
A friend of mine is running a Myr deck with a few copies of Golem Foundry and I'm not certain we're doing it right.
With regard to summoning sickness, the definition i found was this:
e inability of a creature to attack or be tapped to pay for an ability unless you've had control of it from the beginning of your turn
Does that mean that you cannot tap a Myr with a mana ability until the turn AFTER you bring it into play?
Thanks for any help
Lord_Azael
0 posts
Posted 14 November 2010 at 14:32
Permalink
5 replies
Login to post a comment
olataro
21 posts
I asked that before. On all counts,No. They dont
Yes, you cant tap em for mana the turn they are played, but, if your myr battlesphere is already summoned the last turn, and you just happened to summon a myr this turn, even though the summoned myr has summoning sickness, you can tap it to boost the battlesphere's power.
Note that artifact spells are artifact cards that you puton the battlefield. The tapping, my summoning by battlesphere, etc, are abilities. Not spells.
0
Posted 14 November 2010 at 17:23
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
[QUOTE=thegathered]you can't pay 0 for X it has to be more than 0[/QUOTE]
There are injunctions against choosing fractional numbers and negative numbers, but not against choosing zero. Some specific cards may disallow it, like Benalish Commander, but not the rules in general.
107. Numbers and Symbols
107.1. The only numbers the Magic game uses are integers.
^ Zero is an integer.
107.1a You can’t choose a fractional number, deal fractional damage, gain fractional life, and so on. ...
107.1b Most of the time, the Magic game uses only positive numbers and zero. You can’t choose a negative number, deal negative damage, gain negative life, and so on. ...
(digressive edit: the game does make limited use of negative integers; you can't choose them when asked to choose a number, but the game does keep track of certain values below zero, such as life totals and a creature's power and toughness:
107.1b Most of the time, the Magic game uses only positive numbers and zero. You can’t choose a negative number, deal negative damage, gain negative life, and so on. However, it’s possible for a game value, such as a creature’s power, to be less than zero. If a calculation or comparison needs to use a negative value, it does so. If a calculation that would determine the result of an effect yields a negative number, zero is used instead, unless that effect sets a player’s life total to a specific value, doubles a player’s life total, sets a creature’s power or toughness to a specific value, or otherwise modifies a creature’s power or toughness.
Example: If a 3/4 creature gets -5/-0, it’s a -2/4 creature. It assigns 0 damage in combat. Its total power and toughness is 2. You’d have to give it +3/+0 to raise its power to 1.
Example: Viridian Joiner is a 1/2 creature that says “{T}: Add an amount of {G} to your mana pool equal to Viridian Joiner’s power.” An effect gives it -2/-0, then its ability is activated. The ability adds no mana to your mana pool.
So the game does make use of the full spectrum of integers, not just the positive ones.)
0
Posted 14 November 2010 at 20:28
Permalink
Lord_Azael
0 posts
Thank goodness for that...
Another question came up in one of the games I played today regarding the battlesphere. They guy who used it played his tokens and then proudly announced that they could be tapped and used as mana just as some of the other Myr can. I called shenanigans, and he eventually agreed not to do it until we checked...is that something that he can do?
0
Posted 14 November 2010 at 22:14
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
[QUOTE=Lord_Azael]Thank goodness for that...
Another question came up in one of the games I played today regarding the battlesphere. They guy who used it played his tokens and then proudly announced that they could be tapped and used as mana just as some of the other Myr can. I called shenanigans, and he eventually agreed not to do it until we checked...is that something that he can do?[/QUOTE]
No, it isn't.
There are only two cases when you can a permanent for mana:
- The permanent has a basic land type (plains can be tapped for :manaw:, islands for :manau:, etc.).
- Some ability or effect says that you can. In this case there will be a card whose wording you can check for the specifics.
Myr Battlesphere doesn't enable any Myr to be tapped for mana, and there are no special rules for the Myr creature type (or any other creature type).
0
Posted 14 November 2010 at 23:29
Permalink
olataro
21 posts
Those are just myr tokens. The are creatures with 1/1, and no abilities watsoever. An easier way to look at it is throught the definition. Remember, the battlesphere states you summon 4 myr tokens. They never said those token have the ability to tap for mana.The same goes to the tokens you get for sacrificing origin spellbomb and the ones you got from the myr smith.
Oh and take a look at my myr deck. I just love myrs. What you think?
http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewDeck.aspx?DeckID=115907
0
Posted 16 November 2010 at 04:30
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!