Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Opalescence question
what happens if i play Day of the Dragons while i have Opalescence in play?
nekogal
0 posts
Posted 26 November 2010 at 20:37
Permalink
4 replies
Login to post a comment
SilverTabby
26 posts
I comes into play as a creature, gets sacrificed, leaves play, returns to play, leaves, etc...
I believe this triggers rule 104.4b in the official magic rule book:
'104.4b: If the game somehow enters a “loop” of mandatory actions, repeating a sequence of events
with no way to stop, the game is a draw. Loops that contain an optional action don’t result in a
draw.'
I'm not 100% sure this is correct but it seems to be the most logical conclusion
0
Posted 26 November 2010 at 22:42
Permalink
olataro
21 posts
if i am not mistaken, its becomes a creature. no loop
0
Posted 27 November 2010 at 05:30
Permalink
Aneximines
4 posts
It does create a loop.
Day of the Dragons will enter the battlefield as a 7/7 creature.
When its first ability resolves, it will be exiled, triggering its second ability.
When that resolves, it will return to the battlefield, starting the next iteration of the loop.
It is productive with something like Pandemonium (the Pandemonium would oscillate as well, but that's okay because enters-the-battlefield abilities can see things entering at the same time as the object they're on), Goblin Sharpshooter (when a token creature - like the sacrificed dragon tokens - goes to the graveyard, it triggers goes-to-the-graveyard abilities before vanishing), or Blasting Station.
If it isn't productive, and no one intervenes with a Stifle or Disenchant or something, then the game will end as a draw.
0
Posted 27 November 2010 at 06:36
Permalink
olataro
21 posts
Tats a scary way to end...........
0
Posted 27 November 2010 at 07:47
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!