Discussion Forum

When did you first start?

Just like the title says. I started playing MtG shortly after Tempest was released when a friend of mine was looking for something new to be addicted to. I've taken a break after the Invasion block but have recently started picking MtG back up and teaching my oldest son how to play.

http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewDeck.aspx?DeckID=134057
Posted 11 January 2011 at 20:48

summer of 94, right around when The Dark came out, stopped and sold off my cards after Ice Age.

got back into it 10 years later just before Kamigawa was released...stopped again after a year but this time kept all my cards.

and been playing again since Shadowmoor/Eventide..making this the longest of my 3 stretches =)

damn i wish i hadn't sold off all my older cards
Posted 11 January 2011 at 21:24

I'm a total newbie compared to everyone here as my first intro to mtg was in 2008 were I learned the rules and only played with borrowed decks and had no clue about what a set or a block was. I did however discover my all time favorite card Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind

I didn't see the game again for 2 years around 2010 that I really got into it again
Posted 11 January 2011 at 22:12

I actually started the week Rise of the Eldrazi came out.
My first deck was born out of the assemble the doomsday machine archenemy pack, but thankfully, those days are behind me.
Posted 12 January 2011 at 09:23

must be around 1994, I stopped a few years later for a long time though and got back into it about 5-6 years back.
Posted 12 January 2011 at 09:30

I started sometime around mirrodin i think, not sure exactly because i thought i was to cool for the game and didn't learn to much about it. But then i got over myself and realized that only cool people play magic around the time that shards was out
Posted 12 January 2011 at 22:10

wow nice to see a few "old school" players around still.