Discussion Forum

Livewire lash question

Hello I just had a few questions about the card "Livewire Lash".

1) I was wondering how does livewire lash work with a doublestrike creature? Does the creature deal dmg twice or just once?

2) This is probably a dumb question but I just wanted to make sure. I am new to the whole level up thing. If I have livewire lash on a level up creature does the ability trigger whenever I level up the creature? I highly doubt it but I just wanted to make sure.
Posted 04 February 2011 at 05:33

2: the leveling abilities do not target the creature so no, it doesn't trigger the lash.
Posted 04 February 2011 at 14:45

[QUOTE=Seras]2: the leveling abilities do not target the creature so no, it doesn't trigger the lash.[/QUOTE]

Also, Livewire Lash only triggers when the equipped creature is the target of a spell. So even cards like Venerated Teacher who add level counters to creatures, or Gilder Bairn who doubles the number of counters on a permanent, will not trigger Livewire Lash either because they are abilities of permanents, not of spells.

1) Double strike only affects how the creature deals combat damage, and combat damage is only ever dealt when a creature attacks. Whenever a creature deals damage because of Livewire Lash's triggered ability (even if that creature is attacking), it deals that damage exactly as Livewire Lash describes. So, no, it will only deal 2 damage, and will only deal it once.
Posted 04 February 2011 at 22:38

Alright two more question about livewire lash. I now learned that livewire lash only triggeres from "spells" coming into play. But what if I cast the land card "Sejiri Steppe" and have the coming into play ability target a creature with livewire lash. Will livewire lash trigger?

Last question, if I cast "Kor Skyfisher" and target a creature with livewire lash equiped will the ability trigger before it bounces to my hand?

Sorry about all the questions about this card and thanks in advance!