Discussion Forum

Decks

Hello everyone, the question i am about to ask will make me sound like a new but to tell you the truth i am not new to the game i have been playing off and on for over 10 years now. But for some reason i can not make a deck on my own i always need help and it is nerve wrecking. I would be so greatful if i can get some help on learning on how to make a good deck and where to start.:manaw::manau::manab::manag::manar:
Posted 16 February 2011 at 05:41

[QUOTE=myoders214]Hello everyone, the question i am about to ask will make me sound like a new but to tell you the truth i am not new to the game i have been playing off and on for over 10 years now. But for some reason i can not make a deck on my own i always need help and it is nerve wrecking. I would be so greatful if i can get some help on learning on how to make a good deck and where to start.:manaw::manau::manab::manag::manar:[/QUOTE]

There are three general deck archtypes: aggro, control, and combo.

Aggro - Aggressive decks that try to win quickly through a strong early game. They value threats and disruption that are cheap and efficient. Classic examples are Goblin decks and "white weenie," which use lots of inexpensive creatures so that they can always start attacking aggressively from the get-go.

Most casual creature-based decks are aggro decks, often clogged up by flashy expensive Timmy cards.

Some aggro decks can get away with expensive creatures if they have some trick to get them out quickly, such as green magic's efficient mana acceleration or black magic's reanimation techniques.

Green and white are good at this because of efficient creatures. Black has some great all-purpose disruption like discard effects along with high-risk aggressive creatures like Carnophage and Phyrexian Negator. Aggression is very much in color for red and it has some great Goblins and cheap burn (to do away with blockers) to back it up. Blue's pretty bad at it.