Discussion Forum

New to MTG Vault, looking for opinions on deck

Hails,

I am new to the MTG Vault/forums. Sixteen years ago I used to make fun of my friends who played Magic. When I first started dating my wife in 2005, I was shocked to find out she was an MTG junkie. Slowly she drew me into the game and over the past couple of years I have become hooked. Needless to say, I regret making fun of my old university friends, haha. I can just imagine the collection I would have had I started back in 1995.

Through sheer gameplay and browsing other decks on this site, I have become a lot more proficient at the game and I think at deck-building too. I still have a lot to learn though.

That being said, I was hoping to get some opinions on:
http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewDeck.aspx?DeckID=192878

I am looking for ways to improve it. What are some sideboard cards I should add, and is there anything I can add to speed up the ascension? (since building it I have thought of Jinxed Idol)

Also, I only play casually with my wife and other friends. I have never played in official tournaments and know nothing of the different rule variations. Is there a "crash course" out there on the different games? Is my deck "legal" for tournaments?

Thanks in advance! :manab:
Posted 07 June 2011 at 02:16

from the looks of it it looks like its extended legal but if I were you I would stick to casual for a while longer before playing tournaments. Sideboards are usually something you make for tournament play and not for a casual deck. tournament play has a meta that is easier to sideboard against then the unlimited veriaty of casual play.

the deck is vulnerable because it's slow and doesn't have the means to protect itself very well. Try mixing in red for lightning bolt, terminate and blightning. Drop Lilliana Vess and hidious end.