Discussion Forum

Exalted Questions

If I have a creature with shroud attacking alone, does it gain the exalted bonus?

If Hero of Bladehold attacks, does it gain exalted bonus, or does it lose it because of the soldier tokens?
Posted 27 June 2011 at 19:59

Permalink

The exalted ability never targets a creature, so even something with shroud or hexproof can receive the bonus.

As for Hero of Bladehold, here's what I found in the comprehensive rules:

508.4. If a creature is put onto the battlefield attacking, its controller chooses which defending player or
which planeswalker a defending player controls it’s attacking as it enters the battlefield (unless the
effect that put it onto the battlefield specifies what it’s attacking). Such creatures are “attacking”
but, for the purposes of trigger events and effects, they never “attacked.”

Because Exalted is a triggered ability, it seems that the Hero can receive the bonus if it attacks alone.
0
Posted 27 June 2011 at 21:18

Permalink

Can someone look up the Exalted rulings to double check though?
0
Posted 04 July 2011 at 02:12

Permalink

I would assume that the two abilities trigger simultaneously, and you can therefore choose the order they are put onto the stack, and subsequently the order they resolve.
0
Posted 04 July 2011 at 14:32

Permalink

702.81. Exalted
702.81a Exalted is a triggered ability. “Exalted” means “Whenever a creature you control attacks
alone, that creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.”
702.81b A creature “attacks alone” if it’s the only creature declared as an attacker in a given combat
phase. See rule 506.5.

Exalted is a triggered ability (that never targets, by the way). Because the tokens never attacked "for the purposes of trigger events and effects", they won't interfere with any cards with exalted you might control when put onto the battlefield attacking.
0
Posted 06 July 2011 at 02:21

Permalink

yeah it gets the exalted bonus. Like scumbling1 said, it was the only creature declared as an attacker when attackers were declared so exalted triggers, the tokens are irrelevant as they were never declared as attackers.
0
Posted 06 July 2011 at 12:09

Permalink

It would have to be worded 'is attacking alone' for it to not work, and even then you could just reorganize triggers. As is, it works without fiddling with it.
0
Posted 18 July 2011 at 03:30

Permalink