Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Vault Deck Challenges
Deck Challenge: Bazzar Trader
After doing some research, I found that Bazzar Trader's ability would wipe the 'return to owner at the end of turn' aspect of cards like Act of Aggression, Mark of Mutiny, and Act of Treason. So, here is your challenge, design a standard legal deck built around stealing and keeping your opponents creatures. It can only be either mono-red or black/red.
Good luck, peoples.
Larz_the_Techno_Viking
4 posts
Posted 26 July 2011 at 11:35
Permalink
8 replies
Login to post a comment
Col_Snugglecakes
29 posts
Well I realized after I finished that I had put lightning bolts which are no longer legal. To make it standard, remove the lightning bolts and take the rest of the cards to 4.
MINE!
Edit: It's late, but I'm not quite sure if sundial works with the take over spells <_<. Still fun idea
0
Posted 27 July 2011 at 07:50
Permalink
heliosofcows
581 posts
[QUOTE=Larz_the_techno_viking]After doing some research, I found that Bazzar Trader's ability would wipe the 'return to owner at the end of turn' aspect of cards like Act of Aggression, Mark of Mutiny, and Act of Treason. So, here is your challenge, design a standard legal deck built around stealing and keeping your opponents creatures. It can only be either mono-red or black/red.
Good luck, peoples.[/QUOTE]
how does bazaar trader do this? he gives (not exchanges with) your opponent an artifact, creature, or land. if he exchanged them, it would work, but as it is, it does not.
P.S. lightning bolt doesn't rotate til September 30.
P.S.S. the sundial doesn't work with take-over spells b/c it says "until end of turn", not "at the beginning of the next end step". when your turn ends you lose control.
0
Posted 27 July 2011 at 16:16
Permalink
Larz_the_Techno_Viking
4 posts
Re-read bazzar trader. Tap: give target player ( which means you can target yourself ) control of creature, ect.....
When you give it to yourself, you wipe the "give back at end of turn" clause.
0
Posted 27 July 2011 at 17:43
Permalink
heliosofcows
581 posts
[QUOTE=Larz_the_techno_viking]Re-read bazzar trader. Tap: give target player ( which means you can target yourself ) control of creature, ect.....
When you give it to yourself, you wipe the "give back at end of turn" clause.[/QUOTE]
no because it says to give it back to it's owner's control at end of turn. the spell you played still resolved and the effect will happen. the delayed trigger doesn't specify anything about who controls it when it triggers, just that "that" creature will be put under it's owner's control at end of turn. please state the rule that states how this is wiped by bazaar trader.
0
Posted 27 July 2011 at 21:02
Permalink
Larz_the_Techno_Viking
4 posts
Lets say you play Act of Treason on a creature, and it writes that you control it until end of turn.
Then before the end of turn, you Bazaar Trader it on yourself.
This overwrites the previous control effect(A parralel do this would be both players casting Mind Control on the same creature. The last player to do it would get control of it)
Because there is no duration effect on Bazaar Trader's ability, it's effect is indefinite.
I have seen this situation played out on MTG Online, so one would think that it is a totally legal action. If you think otherwise, go and gripe at MTGO's programmers.
0
Posted 27 July 2011 at 22:06
Permalink
apples
1 post
I checked on tcgvault, and as of 1/03/2010, it has been ruled that bazaar trader will enable you to gain control of a creature that you temporarily took control of indefinitely, so Larz_the_techno_viking is correct.
0
Posted 27 July 2011 at 23:16
Permalink
heliosofcows
581 posts
[QUOTE=Larz_the_techno_viking]Lets say you play Act of Treason on a creature, and it writes that you control it until end of turn.
Then before the end of turn, you Bazaar Trader it on yourself.
This overwrites the previous control effect(A parralel do this would be both players casting Mind Control on the same creature. The last player to do it would get control of it)
Because there is no duration effect on Bazaar Trader's ability, it's effect is indefinite.
I have seen this situation played out on MTG Online, so one would think that it is a totally legal action. If you think otherwise, go and gripe at MTGO's programmers.[/QUOTE]
thank you for explaining and sorry if it seemed like i was trying to be a troll b/c i just wanted to know for sure
0
Posted 28 July 2011 at 09:05
Permalink
Col_Snugglecakes
29 posts
I didn't fully understand the challenge when I made the first entry. I have corrected it to meet the parameters of the challenge.
Red Rover, Red Rover...
0
Posted 01 August 2011 at 07:19
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!