Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Victory's Herald vs Gravity Well
I have a Gravity Well in play, my opponent has a Victory's Herald.
he attacks with all his creatures.
once the declare attacker step resolves and it's time to declare blockers, are his creatures flying or not?
I've looked at this situation from every angle I could think of but none have left me certain about the outcome.
seras
59 posts
Posted 26 July 2011 at 14:13
Permalink
4 replies
Login to post a comment
truegrave18
28 posts
If you already have gravity well in play, when they attack with Victory, it turns the other creatures into flying with lifelink. With gravity well in play, it removes flying from all of them including VH but they would still have lifelink.
0
Posted 26 July 2011 at 14:29
Permalink
seras
59 posts
it's a bit more complicated than that though.
the attacker is the active player, so the herald's ability will go on the stack first, then the well's.
the well will resolve first, removing flying from all the attacking creatures, then the herald will resolve and the attacking creatures will gain flying.
what im having trouble with is will the well's ability trigger again since there are now attackers with flying, or can it only trigger once when the attackers are originally declared? ...but then we're still in the declare attackers' step?
if it was obvious, wouldn't have asked here =)
0
Posted 26 July 2011 at 14:36
Permalink
Setherial
349 posts
It triggers only once when attackers are declared.
0
Posted 26 July 2011 at 14:47
Permalink
Ghost1599
247 posts
To my understanding the creatures have to have flying when they've been declared attackers to be affected by gravity well.
Declare attackers step: 'Swinging' with x creatures that do NOT have flying. Triggers Herald.
After attacks have been declared: Attacking Creatures gain flying + lifelink.
Gravity well isn't state based, it doesnt make attacking creatures instantly lose flying, it only activates when they've been declared but since they didn't have flying at the time, it does nothing.
0
Posted 27 July 2011 at 03:21
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!