Discussion Forum

For a beginner

Well, first off, I am a beginner in Magic: The Gathering. I have recently bought a bunch of cards at local stores, but I have gotten so many common cards that dont look powerful at all. Am I missing something or is there a way to make a decent deck with mostly common cards? I love the concept of the game, but I dont want to spend a ton of cash buying a ton of rare cards that can get expensive fast.
Posted 05 September 2011 at 23:23

[QUOTE=mateo531]Well, first off, I am a beginner in Magic: The Gathering. I have recently bought a bunch of cards at local stores, but I have gotten so many common cards that dont look powerful at all. Am I missing something or is there a way to make a decent deck with mostly common cards? I love the concept of the game, but I dont want to spend a ton of cash buying a ton of rare cards that can get expensive fast.[/QUOTE]

Hello, and welcome to Magic: The Gathering, one of the best card games ever. Please enjoy your stay :)

If you have a large amount of cheap commons, I would that you should try building either a red deck, or a red-green aggro (aggressive, creature based) deck. Both can be done simply, cheaply and with mostly commons. For example, this deck - a Red Deck Wins - is very high quality, but it can cost less than $10 and is mostly commons.

If you can't afford to buy cards individually, or if you just want to grow your collection with good, recent cards for a smallish cost, I would recommend seeing if your local shop hosts Booster Draft tournaments, where you get to keep the cards you draft. You can practice up and see how people draft in places like here or here.
Posted 06 September 2011 at 04:20