Discussion Forum

May I get some advice, please?

I'm not very good at making decks, compared to decks others' have, and I just want an opinion and some pointers for one deck that i've been working on for a couple months.
It is a creature-themed Leonin/Nacatl deck. Here's a link to the deck page: http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewDeck.aspx?DeckID=265362

Like I mention in the deck description, I don't have access to most of the really cool cat warrior cards; but as I keep getting shoved in my face it's possible to make a deck that can kick ass with just commons and uncommons. Which is true, but I'm trying for a pretty specific theme here.

Any help here would be appreciated. :confused:
Posted 28 November 2011 at 10:56

I enjoy cat decks and have one I use myself in tournaments thats pretty effective.

Now to help you with future deck building I'm gonna tell you the golden rule to building.

"If the card is important enough to be in your deck, it's important enough to have multiple of it"

Meaning add multiple copies of the cards you want in your deck. It will make that card appear more often.
(think this way with 1 copy you have a 1/60 chance of drawing the card, but with 4 copies you have a 1/15 chance. See the extreme difference?)

So with that said you need to figure out what cards are the MOST important to your theme, and get rid of the rest so that your able to put in multiples of those cards.

Good luck to you sir/maam. I wish you well in your endeavors.
Posted 01 December 2011 at 04:49

thank you for the tip. as vague as it is, it does help a bit. looking through it i can remove certain cards to make room for others, like the Kembas and White Sun.
a problem i have is i was wanting it to be green/white. i know i could make due without most of the green cards and go all white, but the Ambushers have helped in multiple matches, and having the forests in just for those four cards wouldn't make it worth it.