Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG General Discussion
Mimic Vat vs. Leyline of the Void
This is a repost of my previously misplaced post
In a situation where my opponent has Leyine of the Void in his openning hand, is there anyway I could still use Mimic Vat to exile a card before Leyline exiles it?
AbsoluteShadow
101 posts
Posted 09 December 2011 at 11:05
Permalink
4 replies
Login to post a comment
AbsoluteShadow
101 posts
bump. I'd like to know the answer to this question if anyone could? My grasp of the stack isn't quite perfected yet
0
Posted 10 December 2011 at 23:46
Permalink
Ghost1599
247 posts
eh, being a sort of noobie myself at this sorta thing I'm not 100% sure but I do know that Leyline of the Void is a replacement effect*. Because of this, a creature never actually goes to the grave to be 'nommed' by Mimic vat but instead goes straight to RFG/Exile
Edit: Ah, see here. The 6th ruling down sums it up entirely.
0
Posted 11 December 2011 at 09:24
Permalink
ESFAndrozzESF
0 posts
Since Leyline of the Void exiles the card, Mimic Vat cannot pick it up. For Mimic Vat's imprint ability to resolve, the card must hit the graveyard. As it reads on Leyline of the Void, the card is exiled instead, meaning that it never goes to the graveyard.
0
Posted 13 December 2011 at 20:31
Permalink
AbsoluteShadow
101 posts
Thanks everyone for the answers. Resigned to imprinting opponents monsters.
0
Posted 19 December 2011 at 04:33
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!