Discussion Forum

Infect EDH questions

Hello all. I am currently running a :manaub: Infect EDH with Wrexial as my general.
http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewDeck.aspx?DeckID=306042

I have gotten some real nasty comments at the game store I frequent because of it. I am new to EDH myself and its my first EDH deck. I thought I was just being clever and getting around the 40 life and especially getting around some of the decks that I have encountered that are mass life gaining decks. This deck does alright 1 on 1, but in a 3-6 player environment I get taken out fast, or I just get to see the worst sides of people just because I play Infect.

I enjoy playing Infect in large games because its a challenge. I have to fend off what seems to be all other players, and yet still try to deal an equal amount of damage to each of them in hopes of not being taken out of the game early. In theory, if I just stay alive until the end, I can swing in a few infect attacks for the kill when its just down to me and the last player thus "winning", but I don't know if playing like a defensive turtle would really be that fun.

So my questions are:

1) What can I do to this deck to better stay alive in a 3-6 player environment? I don't care so much about winning, but its a plus.
2) What could I do to make this deck more aggressive and win in a 3-6 player game? Is the potential there?
3) Is playing Infect in EDH unfair?
4) Should I tone down the Infect and have just enough of it to over come "infinite" life gain decks and supplement the rest of the deck with regular damage creatures?
5) If I was to make this a non Infect deck, what should I replace all the Infect critters with in order to make this :manaub: control?
6) Do you like waffles?

Thanks for the help. I appreciate all feedback/criticism/hate/etc.
Posted 06 March 2012 at 15:00

The thing with EDH is that it's based on a spirit of fair play and house rules.