Discussion Forum

One heck of a combo discovered in my colorless deck

Hey everyone,

Working on a colorless artifact/eldrazi deck incorporating myr to make up the lower end of my mana curve. While playing this deck I came across a nasty combo using the Myr Battlespher, and two Myr Galvanizors, and wanted to know what people thought. It involves putting these cards into play, and once there in play tap all of your Myr creatures, but one of Myr Galvinizors for your Myr Battlespheres ability to do X damage to target opponent and give it +X for each Myr tapped this way till end of combat. Now with last Myr Galvinizor untap all of your Myr, then retap all but one galvinsor and repeat process as many times as you have mana or until you have killed your opponent.

Heres the deck. please let me know what you think of it and the combo!

http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewDeck.aspx?DeckID=341429
Posted 04 June 2012 at 03:08

Permalink

It doesn't work. The myr battlesphere triggered ability triggers only once (when declaring My Battlesphere as attacker), which means you can respond to it only once by tapping myrs.

besides a combo that requires 3 specific creatures to be in play at the same time is not that strong and if 2 of the 3 creatures must be the same card it's even less likely to succeed. It's far to easy to break.
0
Posted 04 June 2012 at 07:27

Permalink

Hey Seth,

My buddy and i were having a massive argument about this as well. He said the same thing as you, however my argument is that the Myr Battlesphere doesn't say you can't tap the same Myr more than once in this manner say like a Dragon Welp might say it can only be pumped up so much by paying red mana. For this reason, wouldn't my combo actually work or because its attacking i am unable to untap the Myr as a fast effect to reuse the battlesphere ability?

In any event, maybe we don't need to tell my buddy he was right and i won't do it again? =P
0
Posted 04 June 2012 at 16:32

Permalink

The difference between the ability of My Battlesphere and the ability of Dragon Whelp is that dragon whelp has an activated ability where Myr Battlespeher has a triggered ability.

An activated ability can be activated at any time (unless otherwise stated) as long as you can pay the cost. A triggered ability can't be activated at any time, it automatically triggeres in respons to some condition. This is why you can tap your myrs (which is the cost of the ability) only once because the ability triggers only once in responce to the declare attackers which happens only once per turn.
0
Posted 06 June 2012 at 08:44

Permalink

Not happy with the rule decision, but we will go with it.... On that note, I won't play the manuever again, and we don't need to let my friend know he was right! =P
0
Posted 06 June 2012 at 15:43

Permalink