Discussion Forum

First Pure Green Tribal Build

I'm not claiming to be a pro in any way to magic, but I'm not new to the game in any way. I've been playing for quite a while, but I can always learn new things. Funny thing though is that I've never built a mono green deck before... Funny right? I use green in alot of decks with other colors but never by itself.

I decided to build one today, not an elf though, elves beat the hell of green, it's a pretty popular and strong deck type for green, I prefer to mix colors if I'm gonna do the elf thing anyhow. I built a beast tribal deck, it seems like it would be pretty fun to play. Haven't gotten a chance to try it out against anyone yet. I threw a surprise token bomb in there for fun too, it just worked out too well with what the deck already did.

I would love some input or suggestions on it if you'd be willing to give some.
Tell me what you think..

Beast Tribal
http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewDeck.aspx?DeckID=381456
Posted 03 September 2012 at 01:31

Ok, so the biggest problem right now is that you have almost no ramp. In a beast deck, where you are playing creatures that generally cost at least 3+ you're going to be too slow in hitting the required number of creatures to kill your opponent. You also have lots of enchantments to beef your creatures. Beasts usually don't need that as they're big. the problem with low cost beasts is that they are not as efficient as simply ramping up and putting out a higher cost one on turn 3 or 4.

So I would suggest putting in things like lanowar elves, birds of paradise, or overgrown battlement. You may think about looking at cards like feral throwback or obstinate baloth. And if you decide to run red, fires of yavimaya may work well in this deck along with red burn.
Posted 03 September 2012 at 16:07

Thank you for your input =]