Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
quick damage calculation question.
so, me and a couple buddies were playing a match and we came across a problem. i put out spitemare, http://magiccards.info/autocard.php?card=Spitemare| and i gave an example to my friend on how the ability would work. i told him if spitemare was dealt for example 6 damage, i can then have 6 damage dealt back to either him or a creature he controls. now, he thinks that if he attacks with a creature with power 6 and i block with spitemare, i can only deal 3 damage back to him because his creature only deals enough damage to kill mine. so does his creature deal the full 6 even though spitemares toughness is only 3, or does it only deal up to lethal damage? just need to settle this argument. thanks in advance.
SH1F722
11 posts
Posted 15 December 2009 at 15:19
Permalink
2 replies
Login to post a comment
Ian
140 posts
As long as Spitmare is in play when the damage resolves, the Spitemare will take six damage, triggering its ability. Then you would check state based effects and send Spitemare to the graveyard due to having taken lethal damage. However, his ability had already triggered, so once state based effects are done you would put his triggered ability on the stack (choosing the target at this time) and players would get the chance to respond like normal. The stack would then resolve like normal and Spitemare's ability would do the six damage to the selected target.
0
Posted 15 December 2009 at 15:31
Permalink
SH1F722
11 posts
alright, thanks for clearing that up!!
0
Posted 15 December 2009 at 15:37
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!