Discussion Forum

black cheap burn: mana pool and sideboard

I've got two main problems with my deck: http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewDeck.aspx?DeckID=386035

1 - Average CMC is pretty low, so I was thinking that maybe I could put in the deck less than 24 lands, maybe 22 or even 20. I would prefer a mathematic answer cause I made this deck using excel. However an experience answer will be accepted too. Is there some math book about mana?

2 - It doesn't have a sideboard. I don't really get how it works (how can you put the sideboard cards in the deck if you don't know who are you going to play with?) and I don't really know how to make one. Could someone make an analysis of the weakness of this deck? Against which kind of decks I could easily lose? And could you also give me some card advice? I'm a beginner and I'm not able to understand the whole thing.

Thanks!
Posted 20 September 2012 at 13:29

As long as you don't play tournaments you don't need a sideboard. It's that simple. You already answered the reason why that is, you can't predict what people are going to play so why bother. Also in casual play people don't play in rounds where one plays best 2 out of 3.
In tournament play you have formats, each format has it's typical handfull of decks that have been proven to be the best the format has to offer. If you build with a tournament format in mind you arm yourself against those X best decks by building a 15 card sideboard that you are allowed to use to alter your deck in between games. A tournament round is always best 2 out of 3. Game 1 you play with your main board, games 2 and 3 you are allowed to sideboard.

As for your deck you'll probably get slaughtered if you take it to a Modern tournament. I say Modern because you posted under the Modern section of the board. In casual play you'll probably get slaughtered as well.

Here is the reason you'll loose to most decks: