Decks
Cards
Forum
Help
Welcome to MTG Vault!
Register
Login
Discussion Forum
Forum Home
MTG Rulings & Questions
Rules question
Hi, I'm new to the forum...but I thought this might be a good place to ask around about a rules question.
Question:
Dimir Doppelganger has a copy creature ability, if I mill off a Phage into opponents graveyard, then copy that creature with Dimir Doppelganger's ability, would I lose the game? The "comes into play" or the new "enters the battlefield" triggers do not technically, uh, trigger do they?
The same question applies to the "Champion" ability. Would I have to sacrifice the creature? The ability states that when the creature comes into play you must champion a creature or sac it. But my view is that the Doppelganger doesn't bring the creature "into play" or "onto the battlefield", it simply turns the doppelganger into a copy of that creature that has been removed from the game.
tleavitt
24 posts
Posted 30 December 2009 at 02:44
Permalink
2 replies
Login to post a comment
scumbling1
58 posts
You won't lose the game, nor have to Champion a creature. You're right; the doppleganger isn't coming into play, so it won't trigger Phage's ability to check where she's entering play from.
There was a top Legacy deck from a long time ago called "Full English Breakfast". It used Survival of the Fittest to get Phage in the graveyard, and Volrath's Shapeshifter to cheat Phage's drawback, much like Dimir Doppleganger can do.
0
Posted 31 December 2009 at 02:46
Permalink
tleavitt
24 posts
Thanks. I thought as much. I've built my deck around milling the other guy then playing with their graveyard with cards like Dimir Doppelganger, Ashen Powder, Debtor's Knell etc.
0
Posted 31 December 2009 at 04:26
Permalink
Username:
Password:
Remember Me
Forgot your password
?
Don't have an account yet?
Register now
!
No notifications!