Discussion Forum

Exquisite Blood + Vizkopa Guildmage

Hi people,

I am new to magic the gathering and have I a question relating the combo between exquisite blood and Vizkopa Guildmage. This combo it seems to be an infinite combo? So my question is if this infinite combo is legal in tournaments? Or there is some rule that prevents infinite combos??? In my opinion if infinite combos are legal, it takes a little fun from the game.

Cumps
Posted 20 May 2013 at 20:38

Infinite combos are legal in tournaments. They aren't particularly easy to pull off and just like any dominant strategy, if they become too powerful, steps will be made to bring it back to a balance.

As far as combo taking away some of the fun of the game... "different strokes for different folks". I tend to agree with you but not everyone enjoys the same things.
Posted 21 May 2013 at 04:29

Yeag I guess you are right, this is only my opinion. I want to win a game, without recurring to an inifinite combo, but I I also respecto players who like this kind of play.

Although I could use this combo Vizkopa + exquisite blood, I have choose not to. Thanks for the information.
Posted 21 May 2013 at 07:10

If the combo is strong it will become a dominant strategy or at least it will have a strong presence in the given tournament meta and people will prepare to go up against it, which we call "hate".

I've played Show and Tell for about a year which is one of the major decks in the legacy tournament meta and it's a strong combo deck that plays a lot of counterspells to defend itself. If people were not armed against it they would lose all the time but it's just not like that. People play counterspells and other hate cards in abundance to stop or at least delay combo strategies and it's usually very hard to win.