Discussion Forum

Aurelia, the Warleader EDH

Looking for some input for my new Aurelia EDH deck. I'm not new to the format, but I am new to multiplayer aggro decks. The link to my deck is below. Any input is appreciated.

http://www.mtgvault.com/homer127112/decks/aurelia-the-warleader-edh/
Posted 24 May 2013 at 20:23

looks very good man, I'm not a fan of Chaos Warp and you could use more burn in my opinion but that makes the deck even worse in multiplayer.

If you resort to burn you could play cards like Ensnaring Bridge which can be a benefit for a deck like yours.

That said there's no such thing as a multiplayer aggro deck, aggro always comes at the cost of card disadvantage and multiplayer is by defenition a format where everything you play creates card disadvantage so you are setting yourself up to lose.

In case you have not figured this out yet this is the big difference between 1on1 vs multiplayer:

1 vs 1: my opponent plays Kitchen Finks and I play Swords to Plowshares to remove it. This was a 1 for 1 swap of cards and has not created card disadvantage for me. However if I would have played terminate his kitchen finks would have persisted and I would need 2 cards to get rid of his 1 card = card disadvantage.

same situation in a 5 player game:

all players are holding 7 cards. Player 1 plays kitchen finks and is now 4 cards behind on his opponents (he has 6 cards and his opponents have 28 cards in total that can potentially kill him, for each 1 card he has they have 4, those 6 cards need to defend against those 28 cards in a worst case scenario). This is because if each opponent plays 1 problem card that this one player has to defend against with a card of his own he would needs 4 cards if he resorted to cards like swords to plowshares that trade 1 for 1.