Discussion Forum

White/Blue - Detain/Extort Deck - In Need Of Advice

Hi guys! I started playing Magic again in January this year but I've not been able to bring myself to properly get my head into it. I started work on a white/blue deck focusing on detain that has evolved to include extort.

http://www.mtgvault.com/aaron2310/decks/control-and-extort/

"This started as an Azorius deck with the intent being to use Detain to control. It was/is my first constructed Magic deck and I've yet to really get it to work right. Over the past few months I've added some extort elements into it which works slightly well. Intention is to try and control the board, use extort to chip away and use flyers to get over there and do the damage.

The problem is when I'm controlling the board I can never usually get any damage done. It just doesn't seem to come together. I usually win one round and lose the other two or it just drags out and I draw.

Looking for some help in making it playable, and winable, for Friday Night Magic. "

Basically, I can't win with it and I can't seem to figure out how to make this work for me. I really want to retain the control mechanic because I enjoy it and I enjoy white/blue.

I was hoping I could get some advice on how to make this into a deck that will actually get me wins in FNM. I'm a little bored of being on that bottom table every time I go - about 5 times so far.

Thanks in advance guys! :)
Posted 11 June 2013 at 22:56

If you would build with archetypes in mind it would help you focus your deck

- a control deck devotes most of its spells to breaking opposing strategies and is very low on win conditions because of that, traditionally one good creature is played midgame and starts doing the heavy lifting while the control player keeps mana open to disrupt his opponent.