Discussion Forum

Red/Blue t4 win?!

http://www.mtgvault.com/fatalideaz85/decks/frostbitten/

Hey there, I'm still new to MTG, This is my Nivix Cyclops red/Blue deck.
I attempted decent control/removal and damage, Let me know what you all think? Constructive critique is welcome! Have a good evening.
Posted 23 August 2013 at 04:05

It seems like you're low on lands. I realize you only need to get to 3-4 but you absolutely have to get there on turn.

I would consider playing Hidden Strings. It either taps down blockers or it untaps mana becoming a "free" spell to get the cyclops +3. With the Goblin in play it would even ramp you mana. It also "combos" with first/double strike allowing you to untap and get a few extra spells off before normal combat damage for more buffs.

I would also consider Dispel. Your biggest threat is going to be fog or some instant speed removal after making your cyclops huge and swinging in for the kill. If nothing else it's a 1 mana instant that you can exile with the nivmagus elemental after getting the spell casting triggers.

Phantom Warriors aren't really on theme. An unblockable 2/2 isn't really that impressive when you don't have any flat buffs in the deck. I would replace with Young Pyromancers which will give you plenty of chump blockers or extra damage off every cast.
Posted 23 August 2013 at 05:29

I have to agree with epsilon on the phantom warrior, you can find a much better add than that.

If you don't use one of the suggestions he gave you, you can even put in curiosity to throw on guttersnipe, then everytime you cast an instant or sorcery you'll get to draw a card, refueling your hand everytime you cast something =p
Posted 23 August 2013 at 16:18

My apologies for the delay, I've been unable to access my email and just recently found my way into my account heh.