Discussion Forum

Lights Out VS G/W Slivers (test game)

I started playing Magic a few weeks ago, and I am looking for advice on some things. I have two standard decks put together right now and I have been testing them against each other as practice. I hesitate a lot in games with other people, make lots of mistakes, and generally forget basically everything I have learned about MTG so far. Anyway, I put a lot of work into keeping up with everything that wen ton in the following game with my two decks, and would like some advice on what I should or could have done rather than what I did, as well as suggestions for my two decks.

Here are the links for my Lights Out deck and G/W Slivers deck on MTGVault

And here is the test game. Eternally sorry if it's confusing as heck--I tried to make it as coherent as possible.

X - Lights Out
Y - G/W Slivers

Roll - X=11, Y=10

X chooses to go first

Draw
X: Swamp, Mutavault, Pack Rat(*/*), Drainpipe Vermin(1/1), Gray Merchant of Asphodel(2/4), Pharika's Cure, Doom Blade
X keeps hand
Y: Forest x3, Plains, Sentinel Sliver(2/2), Manaweft Sliver(1/1), Hive Stirrings
Y keeps hand
---------
Turn 1
X(20) plays Swamp, taps Swamp, plays Drainpipe Vermin(1/1), passes turn
Y(20) plays Forest, passes turn
---------
Turn 2
X(20) untaps, draws Pharika's Cure, plays Mutavault, taps Swamp and Mutavault, plays Pack Rat(2/2), taps and swings with Drainpipe Vermin for 1 damage (Y takes 1 damage), passes turn
Y(19) draws Door of Destinies, taps Forest and Plains, plays Manaweft Sliver(1/1), passes turn
---------
Turn 3
X(20) untaps, draws Corrupt, taps and swings with Pack Rat(2/2) for 2 damage (Y takes 2 damage), passes turn
Y(17) untaps, draws Groundshaker Sliver(5/5), plays Forest, taps Manaweft Sliver(1/1) for 1 white, taps two Forests and Plains, plays Door of Destinies, chooses Sliver creature type, passes turn
---------
Turn 4