Discussion Forum

Tips for someone brand new

So I'm just suddenly getting really interested in this game. I've only played a little bit with a starter deck, mainly learning the rules (and I borrowed that deck from someone I know).

I used to be/still am interested in competitive Pokemon TCG, and I realize that since Wizards used to make those, there happen to be a couple similarities.

Basically, all I want are tips for getting into medium-level play. As I mentioned, I'm trying to learn the ropes as quickly as I can, but I hardly want to be stuck at a really basic starter-deck kinda level, especially since I have some decent experience with card games.

I've heard from some people that the best way to start is with a Booster Box and try building some decks and experimenting around with the cards from there. I imagine this is probably what I'd do, but what set would you recommend me to purchase?

Also, I don't know if MTG has as well established archetypes as Pokemon does (seriously, there were like 4 primary decks and 1 rogue that made a significant showing at World's last season), but if so then it would also be cool to find out about some reasonably priced (I'm thinking $100 limit for now, if possible) mid-tier decks. Nothing fancy, but enough to play a semi-competitive-level game with my friends.

Anyway, sorry if I come off as a huge noob, because I basically am right now. I'm trying to read up on tutorials and articles right now, and if you could direct me to any beginner/intermediate guides, that would be great.

Thanks in advance.
Posted 17 December 2011 at 04:44