Discussion Forum

berserker deck help

hi, im obviously new and i made this red deck out of cards I had kinda just threw it together has no theme
http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewDeck.aspx?DeckID=321684
I want to make it have a theme though I want to surround it around lovisa. I know i have a lot of random cards, I do well against my friends but when i go to the card store they dominate me because I don't have a theme. give me advice on what i should add/take out i know there's a lot :( thanks for the help though
Posted 11 April 2012 at 17:22

Thanks guys!.....
Posted 13 April 2012 at 02:03

Hi Dead Monkey,

I took a look at your deck and it was very reminiscent of when i started playing fifteen years ago. It seems like the deck into itself is a collection of red cards and really has no direction to it. I think one of the first things we need to do is determine which theme direction you want to go with your red deck. Like any color, red has its advantages and its disadvantages. Some red themes I've seen over the years are as follows:

Burn Deck - Exactly what the name says. This type of deck focuses in on direct damage spells and cards that will enhance these direct damage spells (i'll provide two links at the end, one of a deck around this them i am building and a second i saw that was all red i took some ideas from)

Goblin Deck - One of the most effective red decks i've seen in years was a goblin deck. My cousin uses a deck around this them that is red/green that i have literally seen him get infini damage goblins by turn four! Another effective goblin deck i have played is using goblins that will do damage as they go to the graveyard, and then coupling these exploding goblins with spells like goblin gernade and/or fling! Throw in a stalking vengence and you can double your suicide goblin damage!