Discussion Forum

can anyone explain to me how tokens work?

im pretty new to magic.
i dont understand the whole token thing really.

how long do they stay in play?
and do you really need to have the token card to use it? or is it just an imaginary ?/? (any number) creature that i can attack and block with?
and when do they leave play? when they die or after the turn is up?
Posted 06 December 2009 at 04:35

Hey Jake, If you have a card that says something like "Put a 1/1 green Saproling creature token into play" then you would place something on the play table to represent a 1/1 green Saproling. It doesn't need to be a token card and indeed, and until recently token cards weren't at all easy to come by. We tend to use gem stones and try and stick close to colour so in the green Saproling's case we'd put a green gem stone to represent and just make sure everybody knows what the gem stone is representing. Some people like to use dice and set the dice to represent the power or toughness of the creature it is representing.

Creature tokens stay in play until they die just like any other creature unless the card says otherwise. When the token is dead it does not go to the graveyard so anything you have that pings on a graveyard entry will not be activated.
Posted 06 December 2009 at 10:12

alright thanks a bunch :]
Posted 06 December 2009 at 16:16

and if a token was "returned to your hand" or put back in the library in any way, it is is instead simply removed from the game.
Posted 06 December 2009 at 21:52

Can someone verify that tokens don't touch the graveyard? I thought they did and it's an important difference if they don't.
Posted 07 December 2009 at 09:47

they don't go into the graveyard, anything that would result in them being moved to the graveyard simply removes them from the game.

basically: tokens only exist on the battlefield('in play')...if they get shifted anywhere else(library,hand,graveyard,exile) they just stop existing.