Discussion Forum

New to MTG. Which is better fat pack or deck builder toolkit?

So I have been playing for a few months (right around dark ascention) now and I got hooked to MTG right away. I initially got 3 deck builder kits (over time) to get some cards to start building decks. I purchased a box of avocyn boosters when that was released, but now I am kind of wondering which is better, a fat pack or another deck builder kit since the m13 cards have been released. Still an fng so any and all comments are welcome. Thanks.
Posted 08 August 2012 at 23:01

Most people eventually come to the conclusion that buying singles is the best way to go. Buying a Booster Box or Fat Pack is useful though and can provide you with trades and expand your collection when you're new. When I started out we where in a group of 4 players who each bought a booster box (36 boosters) almost every set. That gave us a very rich pool of cards to trade between us and to join the occasional tournament without falling short of cards.

Personally I would stay away from anything that is not a Fatpack/boosters or singles. With the exception of some of the better products wizards prints like thos Duel decks with planeswalkers, the Premium Deck Series: Fire & Lightning was good etc... Ofcourse when buying these special products you need to have some idea what the long term value is.
Never buy Event decks.

Best thing to do if you have absolutely no cards is to buy a few booster boxes, create a deck you like and then buy singles to complete it. You could just buy a deck but that leaves you with no additional cards to make variations or build on new ideas. You need some sort of cards pool to keep things creative.