Discussion Forum

Need help on my first deck!

So this is the first deck I've ever built! I just started playing 2 weeks ago and have been having so much fun. My deck is white and green and I really want it to be powerful. I've been trying to make it so I can get a lot of mana fast and then bring out stronger creatures. Right now I'm having a hard time trimming down my deck size. I'm at 72 cards and I know that's quite a few. I'm just not sure what to get rid of.

Any suggestions would be awesome.

http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewDeck.aspx?DeckID=402729

Thanks so much,
Rachel
Posted 06 November 2012 at 18:12

Rachel, I'm only about a year into the whole MTG thing, and I'm glad you're enjoying it so much. I looked at your deck, and what I'm seeing is that it isn't really focused or coordinated much. You have many, many "good" cards but only a few are really designed to work together very well. I suspect this is a typical tendency among new MTG'ers, because it does take awhile to see how cards and abilities work together (and to even know what the available library looks like).

Additionally, it looks like your deck is pretty heavy in a way that's not really needed. I suspect your deck will play much, much better once you've trimmed it down to the typical 60 card limit and focused the characteristics of your creatures and spells to work a bit better together.

For example, you've got tons of life gaining cards. Ok, that's nice and all, but do you really need all of them? What if you could replace most of them with killer scary cards that make your opponent have to think/worry as early as turn 2-3?