Discussion Forum

R/G/B Counters

Greetings fellow Magic players. I am new to this game (playing for about a month or two), and have been playing a lot of black/blue mill and red/white aggro. These decks were simple for me to make, for the most part, and I've been doing well with them.

I was recently looking through my cards, and saw a lot of potential for a cheap, fast, green deck with some heavy hitters. After using the gatherer tool to find cards that deal with counters, I came up with the deck below. I currently own very few of the cards in the deck, but I am planning to begin purchasing/trading for singles to make the deck. However, I don't want to spend a lot of money to make the deck if it is not going to be worth it.

Also, I understand the concept of a sideboard (situational cards only), but when using three colors, there are so many situational cards available that I don't know which ones I should choose. I want to stick with cheap situational cards that wouldn't defeat the overall theme of this deck, but still allow an element of control.

Thank you all for your help.

Creatures (20 Total):
4x Arbor Elf
4x Champion of Lambholt
4x Corpsejack Menace
4x Primordial Hydra
4x Savageborn Hydra

Instant (12 Total):
4x Bioshift
4x Burst of Strength
4x Mutant's Prey

Sorcery (6 Total):
3x Farseek
3x Ranger's Path

Land (22 Cards producing 18 green, 6 black, and 12 red)
4x Forest
2x Golgari Guildgate
4x Mountain
4x Overgrown Tomb
4x Rootbound Crag
4x Stomping Ground

The deck can be found here.
Posted 07 May 2013 at 00:00

- Sideboard is for tournament players, don't worry about it if you're new. Sideboarding is probably the most difficult aspect of magic and requires so much experience that it doens't make sense to worry about it at your level. Even at a tournament you are allowed to have a sideboard of zero cards.

- play 4x farseek, you'll need it.
- Burst of Strength doesn't look very hot, I would play 1 as a surprise effect at most.