Discussion Forum

Werewolfs

Hi.

My boyfriends birthday is coming up, and I know how much he loves werewolfs. I'm new to MTG, so I don't know were or how to look for a werewolf deck. I found one, but i had to put it together myself and the price was a bit high.

So if anyone knows of a deck like this, i would love to know. Thank you :)
Posted 16 July 2013 at 12:09

Werewolves are a rather new tribe and fairly small. Most of them are from the Innistrad block with a few old exceptions that don't really do anything. The "best" werewolf is Huntmaster of the Fells which happens to be about a $10 card currently due to some heavy standard play. If a playset of that puts it out of budget, you may just need to wait ~3 months til the Innistrad block rotates out of standard which will cause the price of a wolf deck to drop considerably.

All the other wolves are super cheap. The rest of the deck that would be costly is the mana base. If you can't afford checklands and shocklands, you can get by with basics with not much issue so the real issue is the playset of Huntmasters.

As far as a decklist goes, you should be able to find quite a few on this site or just piece one together yourself by searching "werewolf" in the creature type and then throwing in some related spells as needed. It will be a rather casual deck though as most the wolves aren't too impressive.
Posted 16 July 2013 at 12:25

Thank you so much, but do you know of any starter decks?
Posted 16 July 2013 at 14:13

Jacob Van Lunen writes an article: Building on a Budget for Wizards and he had an article on werewolves with a decklist

http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/boab/166

maybe you can look into buying that one, his decks are usually pretty good
Posted 16 July 2013 at 14:36