Discussion Forum

Blue/Black/White EDH (Any Tips?)

So, I'm fairly new to the EDH scene, but I threw together a deck, I was just curious on what more experienced players thought.

Are there any cards that need to be taken out? If so, any suggestions on what kind of card could replace it?

Thanks! Any feedback is appreciated.

Link to deck: http://www.mtgvault.com/xeravik/decks/whiteblueblack-snowball/
Posted 24 September 2013 at 15:34

looks nifty and fun

Stuff I would kick out (unless it serfs some greater purpose that I overlooked)

Angelheart Vial
Ratchet Bomb (= only good vs tokens, use Oblivion Stone)
Venser's Journal (use Reliquary Tower)

Palisade Giant (looks really weak)

Stolen Goods (doesn't do anything)
Worldpurge (why would you play this? Play Karn Liberated if you want to crazy reset)

I would also cut all mill effects like Mind Grind, You don't have a focussed mill strategy so free up the card slots and play more of something else (draw effects, graveyard reccurance, resets, anything that grands unfair card advantage like Twisted Justice, Overwhelming Intellect, Decree of Pain, Sensei's Divining Top...)
Posted 25 September 2013 at 09:10

I'm not really seeing much of a theme to your deck. It appears to be some good stuff mixed with random junk thrown in because of colors. Thrull Parasite, Kingpin's Pet, Vizkopa Confessor and some of the other guys in there really aren't strong enough for EDH.

Who is the actual commander? Dromar? You could really have some fun with his ability or other color changing abilities. Alternatively you could make it a more bounce themed deck with things like warped devotion. Lavinia loves being bounced.

Cut all the mill cards unless you want to focus on mill. It's powerful but only when you have a full focus on it and are prepared to handle things like Eldrazi shuffles.