Discussion Forum

Kinda new to Magic and I have a few questions

Hi there!

Well let me start off by saying I've been playing Mtg for roughly 6 months now and have enjoyed the game throughly. I came from playing competitive Yugioh which has a much different ban list than Mtg does which leads me to my question.

We have a small group of players (8 ish) that play regularly and a lot more in our small town who play. We do don't have sanctioned tournaments and the closest place we could go for a hobby store tournament is a little over an hour away. All of our player play anything from the newest sets to really old stuff. Basically whatever they have or had. We make do. But we decided as a group to attempt to Modern legality. This was just fine and dandy until we realized just how many cards we wouldn't be allowed to play. Like my entire Reanimator deck for example is completely banned by modern. Would it be more beneficial for us to just stick to a Vintage or Legacy format while we're just table top gaming and not competing? Or is it better to force everyone to play modern legal decks?

Will the Odyssey cards and Reanimator be allowed in modern anytime?

If you were just starting out with a group of friends playing on weekends would you even care about ban lists or play for for the fun of playing?

Anyway hope some of those questions made sense trying to wrap my mind around the system of ban lists in Mtg. Thanks again.
Posted 04 June 2014 at 19:23

This sounds like when I first started playing back in the early 2000's.