Magosi, the Waterveil Loop

by Joshing on 01 November 2009

Main Deck (60 cards)

Artifact (7)


Artifact Creature (4)


Creature (4)


Enchantment (3)


Sorcery (2)


Sideboard (15 cards)

Planeswalker (2)


Sorcery (3)

Submit a list of cards below to bulk import them all into your sideboard. Post one card per line using a format like "4x Birds of Paradise" or "1 Blaze", you can even enter just the card name by itself like "Wrath of God" for single cards.


Deck Description

Infinite turn combo using either two Fatestitchers or two Unbender Tines to keep Magosi the Waterveil looping infinite turns. Ethersworn Canonist filters your opponents turns to one spell and you can easily respond to it with your heavy counterspell arsenal. Silnce puts them turns behind you while you build to the loop quickly leaving them with no turn for casting or the ability to only cast one spell while you work on your turn 4-6 infinite loop. Once looping you can tap out your oppoents creatures and swing infinite times until you win.

Deck Tags

  • Tournament

Deck at a Glance

Social Stats

0
Likes

This deck has been viewed 7,435 times.

Mana Curve

Mana Symbol Occurrence

1922000

Card Legality

  • Not Legal in Standard
  • Not Legal in Extended
  • Not Legal in Modern
  • Not Legal in Vintage
  • Legal in Legacy

Deck discussion for Magosi, the Waterveil Loop

um thats not inifinite turns dude

read magosi dude

every time you put a counter on it you skip a turn.
every time you take another turn you need to remove a counter and bounce it to your hand.

unless you have a way to put counters on magosi (which you dont) then its not infinite.

0
Posted 01 November 2009 at 23:40

Permalink

in the end you dont get any extra turns

0
Posted 01 November 2009 at 23:44

Permalink

This guy is a fucking retard lol.

0
Posted 01 November 2009 at 23:45

Permalink

You skip your next turn then you can do the same thing so it will be like normal.

0
Posted 01 November 2009 at 23:46

Permalink

Your all so dumb. You get teh eon counter, untap it, tap it again for extra turn. Then play it on extra turn and untap t coz i comes into play tapped, tap it for eon counter, untap it for extra turn, durhhh your all retarded

0
Posted 01 November 2009 at 23:59

Permalink

You skip your next turn dumbfuck.... that goes first lol.

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 00:01

Permalink

literally makes it so your extra turn is skipped haha...

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 00:02

Permalink

literally makes it so your extra turn is skipped haha...

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 00:04

Permalink

yea that doesnt work your next turn is skipped meaning the extra turn would be skipped and u couldnt untap or do anything you are just spending lots of time and cards to do nothing...

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 00:22

Permalink

I am new at this but i see where chedderhead has a point it would be the same and so it kind of doesn't have an infinite loop but you could modify this deck and get some kind of solid strategy out of it. please rate my flying brigade deck.

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 00:25

Permalink

they are state based effects dipshit, the second ability negates the turn skipping dumb ass thats the point

-1
Posted 02 November 2009 at 00:41

Permalink

dci judge approved ur all wrong

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 00:42

Permalink

Use Clockspinning to complete the loop. Once you have tapped Magosi for the counter, Clockspinning adds another duplicate counter to target permanent, plus it has buyback. Then you untap-retap for the extra turn, untap-retap for another to cover the turn you have to skip, and you net gain one extra turn. Assuming you already have two of your Unbenders or Fatestitchers, all you need is the 4 mana to play and buyback clockspinning to complete the loop. Any additional mana can be used on other spells or to add additional counters so you never have to use Magosi's tap ability to add the eon counters. That way you don't need to cover for skipped turns and you net gain more extra turns each time, not that it would matter at that point.

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 00:45

Permalink

dci judge approved ur all wrong

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 00:49

Permalink

YOU DONT NEED TO COUNTERS YOUR UNTAPPING TI TWISE IN ONE TURN!

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 00:50

Permalink

TWO

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 00:50

Permalink

In the same turn you use both of Magosis abilities and get the extra turn....you all are missing the point are are retarded.

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 00:51

Permalink

Joshing is correct though. MTG official rules state that if multiple extra\skip turn effects coincide, you play them out in the opposite order they were activated. For example, say your opponent plays something that makes you skip your next turn, then later in that same turn you play Timewalk, since Timewalk was the most recent, it takes place first. In the case of Magosi, you still end up having to skip those turns, but only after you are finished taking your extra turns, which in this case are endless. Therefore, the game eventually ends with a backlog of turns that you are supposed to skip but never got around to. Quite ingenious actually.

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 00:54

Permalink

Oh and on a side note, I'm almost embarrased to say but my Clockspinning theory wouldn't have worked anyway, given that Magosi returns to the hand after you tap for the extra turn. Whoops. Anyways, props to Joshing on the, again, ingenious combo. I'll admit I was myself skeptical at first but it's just one of those things that you have to see from the right angle to understand, and once I did it was obvious. +1 from me.

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 01:07

Permalink

joshing if you are right...

then WTF is wizards thinking putting an infinite combo in standard?!

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 02:12

Permalink

Archangel thank you for being able to finally see this combo....and Hark I dont think they meant to do this

0
Posted 02 November 2009 at 11:07

Permalink

While I don't like how impolite some people are being in this thread... I'm sorry to say it - but the "combo" doesn't work. It's a clever idea - but the fact is that it doesn't matter which orders the effects resolve in. Skipping a turn is a replacement effect, meaning that the next time you would take a turn - you don't. It doesn't matter if that turn is an extra one you wouldn't normally have - the game doesn't care.

To make this a little simpler... Imagine it this way.

First resolves the extra turn effect. The game remembers that, once this turn is over, you'll have another.

If the turn ended the moment this first ability resolved, that would be one thing... But it doesn't.

The turn continues and the next effect resolves - and the game knows now that you'll skip your next turn. Then, eventually, your turn ends and you skip the extra turn you would have had.

If you want conformation, check the DCI rulings on the card - go to Magicthegathering.com's search engine.

A cool idea and a fun one, and one that warms my johnny heart, but sadly - it doesn't actually work. Let's live in hope of errata.

0
Posted 14 November 2009 at 12:18

Permalink

Zendikar/Magosi FAQ:
If you somehow activate Magosi's third and fourth abilities during the same turn, the effects will cancel each other out. The turn you skip is the next one you would take, which is the turn created by Magosi's fourth ability. It doesn't matter in which order the abilities resolved.

0
Posted 06 December 2009 at 16:57

Permalink

^ that is why you use rings of brightearth to make the combo work, it isn't standard legal, but it's needed. You can't use clockspinning since the tokens come off when the land is returned to your hand, returning the land is part of the cost so you can't respond by activating it again. You need to do it this way:

{T}: put the eon counter on, untap with something, {T} Return Magosi: take the extra turn, while you do this pay 2 for the rings and you'll get 2 extra turns, one of these will cancel out the turn lost from the eon counter and you will net one extra turn. This way you get inf turns since you can do this on each of your turns. Have fun.

0
Posted 24 January 2010 at 22:21

Permalink

Oh! Forgot about this detail, you need something else to untap it on each of your turns since it comes into play tapped. So you need to untap it when it comes into play, then again after you put the eon counter on it. That way you can do it on each of your extra turns to net inf turns.

0
Posted 24 January 2010 at 22:24

Permalink

Last thing, I promise! Since this combo can't be standard legal due to the rings, add fun non standard things to help, like tolaria west is AMAZING to search out a Magosi if you're not drawing into one. Also things like freed from the real and pemmin's aura for the fatestitcher can really help this combo out.

0
Posted 24 January 2010 at 22:27

Permalink

Damn it, I can't stop myself! Ok, you need a win condition, so you have infinite turns! What NOW! You don't have a way to win with this deck with your turns that you created. I mean use obvious things like darksteel reactor, or make unblockable creatures or SOMETHING, you need to kill your opponent or all your inf turns will do is draw you out and you'll lose. You now have the combo figured out, now you need to figure out what happens after it goes off! I suggest reactor, or some unblockable meanie, or something as stupid as Prodigal sorcerer pinging every single turn for as much damage as your deck has cards. Things like that. Find something that taps for damage, or mills like grimoire thief with paradise mantle so you can use that mana for magosi and mill 3 cards a turn. Things like that. No worries, once you get this all figured out, the deck will be really fun to play. I'm sure of it. In fact, I'm building one as we speak, what can I say, I'm inspired by this combo attempt. Just for you, I'll put it up when I'm done so you can see my interpretation and create your own.

0
Posted 24 January 2010 at 22:36

Permalink

Here's the deck link to mine: http://www.mtgvault.com/ViewDeck.aspx?DeckID=41558

Sorry I commented so much.

0
Posted 24 January 2010 at 23:33

Permalink

No actually the combo does not work... Even if he takes the extra turn, it resolves after the skipping of the next turn... ~~~ Magic The Gathering Rule: 614.10. An effect that causes a player to skip an event, step, phase, or turn is a replacement effect. “Skip [something]” is the same as “Instead of doing [something], do nothing.” Once a step, phase, or turn has started, it can no longer be skipped—any skip effects will wait until the next occurrence.~~~ Because you are taking the "extra turn" the skip a turn effect becomes "skip [the extra turn]" because that is the next event that would be taken...

0
Posted 27 January 2010 at 21:35

Permalink

Now I have been working on a combo with this land and I still have nothing. Putting extra counters on the land will cause them to fall back off when it is returned back to your hand. So can't really put more counters on it unless it is a Eon Counter not a charge or other and it will still fall off after one use. Another is tapping and untapping you got down but, if you skip your next turn you will lose the following turn then take a turn so it would almost be like not doing anything at all like playing a normal game with no added turns. I did come up with a turn takers deck which has Bringer of the White Dawn and Mindslaver so you can take all the other players turns, but that is still hard to bring out because of mana costs.

0
Posted 17 January 2011 at 19:14

Permalink

Does not work
Gatherer for magosi
http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=190412
If you somehow activate Magosi's third and fourth abilities during the same turn, the effects will cancel each other out. The turn you skip is the next one you would take, which is the turn created by Magosi's fourth ability. It doesn't matter in which order the abilities resolved.

Rings of Brightheart makes it work by copying the extra turn.

Stop the arguing is pointless.

0
Posted 06 July 2011 at 18:44

Permalink