Bitter Much?

by Cithiri on 29 February 2016

Main Deck (60 cards)

Sideboard (0 cards)

No sideboard found.

The owner of this deck hasn't added a sideboard, they probably should...

Submit a list of cards below to bulk import them all into your sideboard. Post one card per line using a format like "4x Birds of Paradise" or "1 Blaze", you can even enter just the card name by itself like "Wrath of God" for single cards.


Deck Description

Turn 4 infinite combo opponent with a near unstoppable win condition.

How to Play

Combo revolves around Mesmeric Orb, Basalt Monolith and Goblin Bombardment. With orb out, use Monolith to infinitely tap and then untap itself, causing me to infinitely mill my own library. When Gaea's Blessing goes into my graveyard from my library, it makes me shuffle my graveyard back into my library, giving me an infinite loop. With Goblin Bombardment out, I can fling every Narcomoeba that I get straight into my opponent's face. Then I keep milling until I hit another Gaea's Blessing, reshuffle Narcomoebas back into the library, and continue. It's attack of the flying graveyard Jellyfish.

Deck Tags

  • Turn 4
  • Infinite Combo
  • Mill
  • Damage
  • Damage

Deck at a Glance

Social Stats

1
Like

This deck has been viewed 1,570 times.

Mana Curve

Mana Symbol Occurrence

448128

Card Legality

  • Not Legal in Standard
  • Not Legal in Modern
  • Not Legal in Vintage
  • Not Legal in Legacy

Deck discussion for Bitter Much?

According to this rule, your combo doesn't work:

"110.1. A permanent is a card or token on the battlefield. A permanent remains on the battlefield indefinitely. A card or token becomes a permanent as it enters the battlefield and it stops being a permanent as it’s moved to another zone by an effect or rule."

Basically, while the cards you're milling have permanent types and would be permanents on the battlefield, they are not permanents in any other zone (hand, graveyard, library, exile, etc).

"Gravestorm (When you cast this spell, copy it for each permanent put into a graveyard this turn. You may choose new targets for the copies.)" {Oracle wording}

Gravestorm counts the number of permanents put into the graveyard, not the number of cards. So your combo doesn't work as no permanents are put into your graveyard with your mill combo.

1
Posted 02 March 2016 at 05:27

Permalink

DedWards is correct, It's exactly why I don't play Bitter Ordeal in my mill deck. It would be so good if so.
702.68a Gravestorm is a triggered ability that functions on the stack. “Gravestorm” means “When
you cast this spell, put a copy of it onto the stack for each permanent that was put into a
graveyard from the battlefield this turn. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets
for any of the copies.”

1
Posted 02 March 2016 at 14:06

Permalink

Well crap. Thank you for telling me this. Back to the drawing board I guess.

0
Posted 02 March 2016 at 16:06

Permalink

Krark-Clan Ironworks / Heartless Summoning + 2x Myr Retriever can get the loop required to 'infinite' with Bitter Ordeal. Problem here is assembling the combo as it requires 2 Retrievers

1
Posted 02 March 2016 at 16:40

Permalink

Don't feel too bad. You had a great concept. Mill yourself AND your opponent LOL! Great to know thinkers like you are out here.

1
Posted 02 March 2016 at 17:41

Permalink

Ok, since the bitter ordeal combo didn't work out, made some changes to the deck so that it could still have the orb/monolith combo and a fast win condition. Thoughts?

0
Posted 03 March 2016 at 02:21

Permalink

That's a good use of the self mill, nice work.

If you want to use the Bitter Ordeal combo I suggested, I strongly suggest a lot of tutoring effects. Getting 4 cards for a combo is bad enough, but it's even more difficult as two of the four are the same (Myr Retriever). Altar of the Brood, Impact Tremors, etc. can easily take Bitter Ordeal's slot in the combo.

2
Posted 04 March 2016 at 04:56

Permalink