Discussion Forum

Non EDH question about odd numbers in decks.

I’ve been playing for about 25 years-ish, but only about 15 years ago did I start playing outside my group of friends. At that time I quickly concluded that efficiency was necessary in deck construction to succeed. I couldn’t just throw together whatever looked useful or good and expect to win. So at that time I began building decks with as little diversity as possible using 4 of everything and only dropping down to 2s for space reasons. If there was any card where only 1 was present it was either because I wanted to be Vintage legal or because that card was serving as essentially the 5th copy of another card.

But looking at others decks over the years, I see ALOT of decks that make a point of still spreading things out. They don’t look efficient at all and often have unnecessary abilities that would be trumped by having a full 4 of another card in their deck. This confuses me. I see lots of decks with many instances of 3 copies, and 1 copy. Something that has almost never worked for me.

Why is this? Why choose weaker cards on purpose, and why use odd numbers instead of even?

I do understand there are budget constraints and I understand rule restrictions but I frequently see this when neither are a concern.
Posted 20 August 2021 at 17:56

Giving an example deck would be helpful, as one could discuss numbers and strategy's and try to figure out what and why someone used the card x-times.

I can only answer this for myself, giving a general answer will be very hard, as each person builds deck differently...that is if you build decks yourself and don't copy&paste them. The main reason for me most of the time is versatility.

For example my pauper monoW Lifegain Deck
1 Icatian Crier vs 3 Battle Screech